Getting Crafty!

I have never been a crafty person.  But after too many hours spent on Pinterest and waiting for Noah to wake up from his naptimes, I got a craft bug.  I found two great ideas on Pinterest last week that I decided to give a try.

Monogram Artwork 
I have been looking for an art piece to put in my recently re-designed sunroom.  I’m in the process of bringing in some darker accents for Fall so I wanted something that would add some warmth.  I came across this image on Pinterest and loved the Burlap background and chunky wood frame.

I made up my own variation on it and went to Hobby Lobby where I purchased a shadow box frame for only $12 (all frames were 50% off).

I also picked up a yard of burlap for $3 and a ceramic letter H for $5.


Tip: when shopping at Hobby Lobby always makes sure you get things on sale. Usually items are marked down at least 40% every couple weeks so no need to pay full price.  You can always download a 40% off a single item on their website as well.

From there I simply took off the back of the shadow box and wrapped it in the burlap.  Then I used the very heavy-duty Gorilla Glue to glue the H in the middle of the frame.  This also helped secure the burlap in place.

Add for under $20 I came out with this little number!

I’ll share some more pictures of the room once I finish my Fall accents this week.

Burlap Wreath 
Continuing with the burlap theme,  I saw this fun idea from Create Craft Love while searching for some curb appeal inspiration.


This was a great tutorial because it was super simple and inexpensive compared to purchasing a store-bought wreath.  I purchased the foam ring, burlap and flowers from Hobby Lobby (all on sale).  I used the Gorilla Glue instead of a hot glue gun and also used some sewing pins to help secure some of the larger items.  And in 30 minutes and $20, I had this lovely wreath on my front door!

So my first adventures in crafting have been a success.  We will see what else Pinterest turns up!!

One thought on “Getting Crafty!

  1. Pingback: Adding a Little Curb Appeal | The Suburban Urbanist

Leave a Reply

