Another plan for the sunroom?

So this isn’t the first time I have made a design plan for the sunroom.  Since we moved into our house I have been baffled with what to do with this room.  My first run at a plan was a couple years ago with this Mid-Century inspired design.

I started down the path, purchasing the sofa from Macy’s, chairs from an antique dealer downtown and making curtains from a Calico Corners fabric.  Then I departed a bit from the original look to go with a more neutral scheme.  Here is what the room looked like this past Christmas, with the addition of a Target Rug, West Elm Curtains, a dumpster coffee table find and our piano.

But despite multiple changes in direction the room just didn’t feel like it was coming together.  So my husband, who is always encouraging of my design ideas, convinced me to start from scratch. So I posted the sofa and chairs on craigslist and within hours they were sold, I had an empty room and cash in hand for a new design plan!

So, it was on to a new design plan.  I needed a starting point and I knew we wanted comfortable furniture that could stay with our family for years to come.  So after a trip to Crate and Barrel we decided to invest in a couple pieces from their Lounge collection.  I am not usually a fan of matching furniture sets, but this one fit all of our needs and was COMFORTABLE. And a big thanks to cousin Bente who hooked us up with a 10% off coupon which saved us a few dollars.

So while we waited the three months (yes an eternity for me) for the custom upholstery pieces I got to work on how the rest of the room would come together.  I was inspired by the coast during our recent trip to Hilton Head Island and decided it was just the way to bring some elegant comfort into the room. I loved the reds, blues and stripes, I guess mainly found in our wardrobes!

And I came up with what I deem my Midwestern Coastal Retreat:

So with our furniture finally here, work has begun and I should have the final reveal to share with you shortly.

3 thoughts on “Another plan for the sunroom?

  1. Pingback: My Midwestern Coastal Retreat Reveal | The Suburban Urbanist

  2. Pingback: How to Accessorize a Room

Leave a Reply

