DIY Kitchen Banquette Part 2

It’s been several months since I updated everyone on the progress of the kitchen banquette and if you missed part I of construction, you can read about it here.  I still have a few things I would eventually like to add, but I think it’s in good shape for a reveal.  So here it is, our new dining banquette!


And a view from the other side.

And a reminder of what the space looked like before.


After we finished building out the bench, we attached wide bead-board to the front and finished it off with a piece of molding on top.  My husband added piano hinges to the top of the bench so that it can easily open and close to use for extra kitchen storage. We also ran the bead-board up the wall and attached a piece of chair rail to the top.  We painted all the woodwork in Behr Country Dairy to match the rest of our trim on the lower level.

I offset the tan walls with a strip of chalkboard paint to add a little interest for the area.  Also perfect for tracking our Masters picks over the weekend, go Bubba!

I wanted the banquette to be cozy, a place where you want to stay and chat after dinner, so I purchased four cushions from Ballard Designs, two for the bottom and two for the back.  I chose a black outdoor fabric so that it would be durable and easy to clean. I finished it off with black and white striped pillows from Crate and Barrel which I picked up on sale over the holidays.

With the banquette complete, it was back to the design board. I didn’t want the dining set to be too matchy so I picked 4 Kilmos dining chairs from West Elm to match the Avalon dining table from Crate and Barrel.

I also needed to replace the lighting since the table was no longer centered in the room.  I needed a pendant with a swag so that I could offset it to hang centered on the table.  I decided on the The Calhoun Glass Pendant from Pottery Barn.

Eventually I would like to get some great artwork to hang above the table, but for now I went with three inexpensive mirrors from Target.

So there it is, I’m thrilled with the results and love how it opens up and softens the room.  It has inspired us to remodel the back sunroom as well, so there is plenty more where this reno came from!

7 thoughts on “DIY Kitchen Banquette Part 2

  1. Pingback: A Nursery Plan for Number 2 | The Suburban Urbanist

  2. Pingback: A Gender Neutral Nursery Plan for Number 2 | Love your home

  3. Hello! I absolutely LOVELOVELOVE your banquette! Great job! Can you please advise what size cushions you ordered from Ballard Designs? I would love to do something similar. Thank you!

  4. Pingback: DIY Kitchen #2351

Leave a Reply

