It’s the very most wonderful time of the year

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas at the Halvorson household!!  Well, I guess it has for the last two and a half weeks.  It’s our favorite time of year and this year we couldn’t resist putting the tree up  before Thanksgiving.  We went with a real tree for the second year in a row and now just have to pray it actually survives until Christmas.

This year I wanted to decorate the whole house in a traditional country Christmas red after being inspired by these personalized velvet stockings from Pottery Barn that I ordered back in October.  They are the first thing you see on our mantel when you walk in the front door.

I made some changes to the furniture arrangement to accomodate the tree in our sunroom.  I also swapped out the curtains I made for this room (old ones went to the guest room) for a pair from West Elm that I found on ebay.  I wanted something more neutral that would allow me to decorate more seasonally in here.


We had a ton of red ornaments from Costco left over from our wedding (we were married on Dec 28th three years ago) and I combined those with red snowflakes from Target and fake berry strands from Hobby Lobby. 

I added a red berry wreath I picked up from Home Goods for $14.99 to the front entry way mirror and a touch of garland on our small banister.


I also added garland and a second small Christmas tree in our front living room.

The master bedroom got some Christmas flare as well.  I finally found some curtains I like, on clearance from West Elm.  The windows have two layers of fabric which gives the appearance that the window is much larger and adds some much needed texture to our relatively plain bedroom.  I choose silver and white ornaments to coordinate with the new curtains and grey walls.

I traded out my summer bedding for flannel sheets from Target  (a gift from my husband last Christmas) and purchased a new duvet cover and sham set, the FLDLX Hotel Duvet set also from Target.  Very festive but more importantly, very cozy. 

So with the house decorated for Christmas, the only thing left to do is finish our third annual Christmas video.  It’s in the works and I can say that it will be starring our little Noah Zion.  So stay tuned for that and in the meantime, I will leave you with last year’s Nutcracker Christmas extravaganza!

2 thoughts on “It’s the very most wonderful time of the year

  1. Merry Christmas, Jenna, Scott and baby Noah!!

    Your Chirstmas decorations totally rock and the Nutcracker video is wonderfully creative and fun! It looks like you have your mother’s good taste in decor and an eye for finding ‘right priced’ good that look smashing! Good for you!! It’s exciting for us ‘old’ folks to see how the next generation gets into the holidays!!

    Enjoy the fun times with your little guy! (It was fun seeing you all at your sister’s wedding!)

    Hugs, Glennis Schlukebier (dining club friends)

    • Hi Glennis- Nice to hear from you, thank you for the nice note! We have been having lots of fun decorating the house for Christmas and getting ready for our first Christmas with Noah. He has been working hard on his 2011 Christmas video so you will have to stay tuned for that one :)

      Hope you are enjoying this holiday season, blessings to you!
      The Halvorsons

Leave a Reply

