Baby Whetstine Nursery Reveal!

I first introduced you to the Whetstine’s back in August when I set out to create a gender neutral nursery design for them.  Now, several months later and just a couple short weeks from due date, I am very excited to reveal the Whetstine’s nursery. Before I get to the details I have to mention what a fun project this was.  Not only are the Whetstine’s great friends and soon to be great parents, but they were so willing to try fun ideas and certainly went the extra mile and put tons of work and detail into the room.  It makes me giddy just thinking about how cute it is and how much Baby W will love living there.  Here is a reminder on the design board they landed on as inspiration for the room.

Here is the nursery now.


It’s a mix of old and new, with a couple high end touches and lots of bargain finds.

Tyler had the idea to install wainscoting along all the walls and Sarah had the idea for painted stripes on two walls as an accent. The wall color is Quietude from Home Depot and the stripe is Silver Screen also from Home Depot. It brought some much needed texture to the small room.  Artwork is from Zulilly and matted frames from Target for $10 a piece.

We took advantage of the only source of natural sunlight by framing the windows with tall curtains from Pottery Barn Teen and making a cozy nook for the glider to fit into.  The side table had been sitting in my basement, originally a $15 vintage market find.

A large ceiling fan was removed to open up the space. Tyler and Scott wired a bulb from Ikea with a shade turning it into a pendant lamp and saving $100 by not purchasing the shade as a pre-assembled pendant lamp.  The artwork on the wall was a custom piece I designed for them after I got the idea for a similar print I made my sister & brother-in-law for their wedding.  The text is a lyric that is special to the Whetstines.

The grey crib was a deal from Walmart and we hand made the bed skirt with stitch witch.  The Whetstines old dresser got new life with a coat of tiffany blue and a refinishing by Redeux, a local artist.
ReDeux also made a custom ottoman to match the dresser.  They inset the fabric we picked for the bedskirt to tie it all together.  It pops off the lattice rug, also from Pottery Barn Teen.

We made sure the nursery was ready to go by having it tested first by Baby W’s big sister Lilly.

And then by the baby design consultant, and soon to be best bud Noah. Looks like he approves!


Congrats Whetstines! I couldn’t be happier for you and can’t wait to meet your little one!

Source List

  • Area rug – PB Teen
  • Curtains – PB Teen
  • Crib- Walmart
  • Lamp Shade (which Tyler turned into a pendant lamp) – Shades of Light
  • Dresser- Whetstines had and refinished by local merchant ReDeux
  • Lamp- Target
  • Curtain rods- Target
  • Wall hooks- Anthropologie
  • Glider- USA Baby
  • Red Rocking Moose- Ikea
  • Bedskirt and Ottoman fabric- Hawthorne Threads
  • Wall letters- Anthropologie
  • Wall art- Zulilly and custom piece
34 thoughts on “Baby Whetstine Nursery Reveal!

  1. I am contemplating buying this pb teen rug, however the pictures on your blog and the pictures online look like they’re different colors. Are your pictures pretty true to color? I was hoping for my home that it would be a little softer in color.

    This room is beautiful by the way!

  2. I am contemplating buying this pb teen rug, however the pictures on your blog and the pictures online look like they’re different colors. Are your pictures pretty true to color? I was hoping for my home that it would be a little softer in color.

    This room is beautiful by the way!

    • Hi Lindy- Thank you for reading! The rug is pretty bright, it is true to color in the pictures on my blog. I would say the picture on the PBTeen website is a little lighter/more pale blue than in person. Hope that helps!

  3. Pingback: Real Room Tour: The Suburban Urbanist Strikes Again | buymodernbaby.com blog

  4. I love the room. It is absolutely adorable. I have been searching for the perfect “gray” for my daughter’s room, and I LOVE the color on the walls!! What color is that, and where can I purchase it? Thank you!

  5. I love love this nursery! We’re due in July and I’m totally inspired. ( : I do have a few questions for you guys.

    1) what brand and color is the grey paint?
    2) is the shades of light shade grey or blue?
    3) what color is the stripe on the pb teen curtains?

    Thank you thank you!

    Angela – Atlanta

  6. Hello,
    Like the above post, I absolutely love this room and was wondering what wall color you used. Gray can be so tricky, but I love this shade, if you wouldn’t mind sharing.
    Thanks!

  7. Excellent job! I’ve added this to my nursery pin board. Was the room for a boy or girl? Not sure if the rug would be too girly (we’re having a boy). Also wondering what shade of grey on the walls? Love your style!

  8. Love this nursery. I’ve been trying to find the right grays to do stripes on the walls. Can you please share what colors you did on the walls!?? Thanks so much!!!!

      • That would be wonderful- I absolutely love it! Do you design a lot of lyrical or quote canvases like that one, or is this the first you’ve done?

      • Hi! I was wondering if you be kind enough to send the art file you did, I absolutely LOVE it. I think you are so creative!!

  9. Hi! I love this rug and have been looking at it on PBT website for quite a while. i am doing my little girls nursery in pink, turquoise, and gray…the rug here looks turquoise but on PBT website it says light blue…is that the color you ordered for this nursery? Any help would be appreciated!! Thank you! – Sarah

    • Hey Sarah- Thanks for reading! I think the rug is more turquoise than light blue. If you look at the first picture of the post, you can see how it compares to the side table and footstool which are a TRUE turquoise color. I think it would definitely work in a turquoise room. It’s super cute in person!

  10. PERFECT nursery. Would love to hear about how your hubby wired the pendant. I was just about to order that exact pendant, but yours even looks better and DIY. Thanks!!!!

    • Hey Rebekah- Thanks for reading! I actually just did another pendant light project last week in my guest room with a little different method that was much easier. I am going to be posting a blog in the next week or two with the details so stay tuned and I’ll give you the details!

  11. Pingback: DIY Pendant Shade | The Suburban Urbanist

  12. Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out
    and say I truly enjoy reading through your posts.

    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Appreciate it!

  13. Why will you not share the color of gray you used on the walls? I love it and have been looking for the perfect gray…..this one looks perfect.

Leave a Reply

