Inspiration for the Bedroom

Now that all the structural and build problems have been remedied in the bedroom it’s time to move on to the more exciting things like a design plan.  If you missed the rather complicated start to the bedroom design you can catch up here. The room is now blank slate with the stage set for a great master bedroom retreat.

With the walls a nice shade of gray I want to keep things fairly neutral.  I will use mainly white with minor accents of color, so it has a nice hotel-like feel.  Keeping all the large components of the room neutral will also give me some leeway to change the room as I want… knowing that I tend to get bored with things after a few months!

My new favorite home color is a citron/mustard yellow so I choose this to accent the gray and white.  Here is my plan for the room.

It took some time to land on this plan and the colors.  Originally I was going to incorporate some robin’s egg blue, however it didn’t have a clean look against the gray and made the walls look too blue.  Below are some bedrooms that helped steer the direction of my design.

From Southern Living

From Sarah Richardson

From Dwell Studio

Work on the bedroom is in full swing so I should have more soon, along with more updates on the nursery, the final product of the entryway and master bathroom.  So much to do, so little time!

3 thoughts on “Inspiration for the Bedroom

  1. Ok-Jenna this is getting creepy-that is almost exactly how I am looking at going our bedroom. I have been waiting for the comforter from Target-Dwell to go on sale!

    • Reese- We appear to be on the same design wavelength. Maybe we should be pooling our resources together for a mega blog or something. Good news, the comforter just went on sale at Target!!!

  2. Pingback: Building a Bed « The Suburban Urbanist

Leave a Reply

