Nursery Progress

At 31 weeks it is definetely time for some nursery progress! Many of you have requested a belly shot so here it is at 31 weeks!

After months of debating I finally decided on a nursery design inspired by the Henry the Lion print I found from A Modern Eden.  Since we don’t know baby Halvorson’s gender, I chose white, brown and citron yellow as my main colors.  After baby’s arrival I will then complement with some additional colors depending on gender.  A design board is imperative to keep me on track with this project as I have changed my mind way too many times! Here is my design board for the room.

It’s a very budget-conscious design with a mix of old and new to keep it affordable. Here is a break down of some of the key pieces:

Chair
Poang from Ikea which I already owned and you may remember from our old apartment.  I had a blue cushion so I am purchasing a new white one and plan to recover the foot stool with the same fabric I will use for the crib skirt.

Curtains
Stripe shower curtain from West Elm in Citron $39. Striped yellow curtains do not exist!  Trust me.  After my husband suggested a striped curtain I had my mind set on it.  Luckily after scouring the internet I came across this shower curtain in Citron.  Unfortunately I ordered it and was notified it was backordered for months.  So a couple calls later I found one at a West Elm in Austin, TX and it should be arriving this week! Now I just need to work my magic to make it into two separate panels.
Crib
Baby Mod ParkLane crib from Walmart $281.  Not the exact one pictured in the design board, but this is a much cheaper version.  After looking at several $1000+ white modern cribs this came out to be the best bargain.  It arrived in several pieces, definitely some assembly required, but it is very sturdy and I am very happy with the quality and construction.

 

 

Changing Table
Ikea Gulliver Changing Table $69.  This baby is cheap and gets the job done. Enough said.
Shelf
Grundtal Shelf from Ikea $19.99.
I had previously purchased this shelf to use as a towel rack in the bathroom.  It ended up being too large for the space so it’s been sitting in my basement for months.  I plan to hang it above the changing table to accomodate extra storage for diapers and baby supplies.
Fabric
Tiles in Chocolate $8/Yard.  This fabric is a complete steal from Hawthorne Threads.  I love this fabric site and that they allow you to easily search by color.  I couldn’t find a bedskirt I liked and most of the crib bedding sets ran from $300-$500.  I will use the fabric for the bedskirt and to reupholster the footrest.

Bench
Manhattan Bench from Target (no longer available online).  This is another piece I had laying around the house.  I had originally purchased it last year for our entry way but then we created our custom entryway and I had no use for it.  I plan to center it under the window with a few pillows to get a window seat effect.
Lighting
My husband and I picked up a great modern yellow and white pendant light from a street fair in Palm Springs during our honeymoon a couple years back.  Since moving to our new house it hasn’t had a place but should be a perfect match with the color scheme of the nursery.

 

With a solid design in place, work is already underway. Now the countdown is on… to finish the room and for baby’s arrival.  We can’t wait!

6 thoughts on “Nursery Progress

  1. AHHHHH, Jenna!! I am so glad you left me a message because I had been thinking about you a ton lately. I had just looked at your blog a couple times…I think Caitlyn told me about it and then Ben fwd. it to me again from Scott! You are so stinking cute and I love everything on your blog! You and Scott are amazing! And I already have been using some of your inspiration baby blogs to help me get started! We will be praying for you guys as you enter your final weeks as just the two of you!
    P.S. Random, but where did you buy maternity jeans???

    • Thanks Amanda! I am feeling good but starting to slow down a bit as the belly keeps growing! I can’t believe how close we are now, the last couple months have flown by. We are getting so excited to meet the little one, the countdown is on! I got jeans from Destination Maternity… if you don’t have one around you they have a good website http://www.destinationmaternity.com/. My advice, invest in a pair you really like because you will be wearing them a lot :)

  2. Pingback: Baby Halvorson Nursery Reveal « The Suburban Urbanist

  3. Pingback: Real Room Tour: Gender Neutral Lion’s Den | buymodernbaby.com blog

  4. So funny – I found your blog because I have been searching for WEEKS (possibly months) for wide cabana-stripe yellow and white curtains! Fruitless search, as you already know. Ten bucks says they’ll be everywhere within six months just because people like you and I are hunting for them and can’t find them! I have debated using the Ikea stripe fabric, but I am not a talented sewer like you! Plus, I need at least 96″ long. Possibly I will try the West Elm shower curtains and sew a few together. Hmmm. Thanks for your posts, glad to see I am not alone. The nursery looks amazing!

    • I am not a sewer either! I used Stitch Witch so I didn’t even have to pull out the old sewing machine. But yes, length might be an issue. Good luck with your search… hopefully you can find a good solution! Thanks for reading the blog!

Leave a Reply

