A Sunny Mid Century Living Room Design

While my dining room is not yet in final form, I decided to proceed with plans for my living room/sun room in hopes to finish before the warm weather arrives here in Kansas City.  I have a fantastic room off the dining space that is wrapped in windows and walks out to the back yard.  I think this room will be the central living space in the spring and summer months as the light floods in creating a sunny and delightful little space that is right off the kitchen.

The colors on the lower level of the home are pretty neutral.  Tan walls and white shelving create a light and airy feeling with wood tones and green accent pieces throughout.  I want the sunroom to play off of these colors while punching up the modern style a bit.  I’ll include bold furniture pieces that will give the room a Mid-Century feel and still coordinate with the traditional style of the home.

I first came across the idea of a creating a mood board while browsing through www.younghouselove.com.  This is a great way to see all your desired colors and textures together and get an idea of what your design ideas will cost you. Before creating the board I browsed through many design catalogs to find some inspirational pictures.  This helps in establishing colors and patterns.  I found this picture which I call “mid-century meets mother nature.”  Not the exact look I am going for but close, and inspiration to get me started.

I love the lines of the furniture and the color of the sofa. What this room is lacking is a punch of color and bold pattern.  I think this can be solved with a bright patterned curtain and plush area rug to soften the wood floors.  Combine that with neutral colors to keep that light summer feeling and I cooked up this design:

My starting point is the green sofa which I have already purchased.  I got a great deal on the Corona sofa from Macy’s. I knew what I wanted and waited until it was on sale and tax-free! Now I will have to see what my budget can accommodate to create the look above.  I will keep you posted on the progress and final pictures when I get there!

7 thoughts on “A Sunny Mid Century Living Room Design

    • Hey Shannon- Thanks for reading! The chairs are vintage, I picked them up at RiverMarket Antiques in Kansas City. The closest reproduction I came across was at Urban Outfitters. Not sure if they carry anymore but they do have a rocker that is similar.

  1. Pingback: Another plan for the sunroom? | The Suburban Urbanist

Leave a Reply

