DIY Make-a-Statement Curtains

When I set out to create a design for the sunroom I had a completely blank canvas; tan walls, white trim and wood floors.   I wanted a bold pattern to liven up the room and accent the high ceilings and natural sunlight.

I didn’t want to commit to patterned furniture, which can box in future design ideas,  so I settled on the less expensive option of patterned curtains.   Store-bought curtains offered underwhelming options so I embarked on a lengthy search for the perfect curtain fabric.  My search ended at Calico Corners where I found this great pattern, DAHLIA AEGEAN.  

Designer fabric doesn’t come cheap, but this was my one splurge in the room.  This fabric was the jumping off point for everything else so it was worth $23/yard.  Calico Corners shipped the fabric to my home at no extra charge and when it arrived I was anxious to get the curtains underway.  I came up with my own DIY plan to accommodate my minimal/no sewing experience.  Here’s how I did it:

1. Measure and cut fabric
Most drapery and upholstery fabrics are around 54 inches wide.  I didn’t want to deal with sewing multiple pieces of fabric together so I kept my panels at 54 inches wide.  I measured the length of my window and added about 6 inches on the top and bottom to account for the hems.  Then I measured, and measured again…. measure twice and cut once, especially when working with pricey fabric!

2. Pin and sew hems
Next I pinned the top and bottom hems.  On the top hem, make sure you make a wide enough hem to slide your curtain rod through.  I gave about 2.5 inch hem on the top and the same on the bottom.  Once I made sure my hems were even I sewed the top and bottom hems on both panels.


 

3. No-sew sides
I decided to use a no-sew solution for the sides of  the panels.  I started by ironing a hem into the sides of the fabric so I would have crisp, clean lines to work with.  To protect the fabric I covered it with a thin towel before ironing.

4. Stitch Witchery
Stitch Witchery is a super easy and effective way to hem fabric without sewing.  It’s probably not ideal for fabric that will have a lot of wear and tear, but my curtain panels will remain open most of the time so it was a perfect fix.

I followed the directions which consisted of ironing the Stich Witch  tape into the hem with a slightly dampened rag over top.  It was super quick and resulted in a perfect side hem.

5. Hang and Enjoy!

 

Lots more to come…. stay tuned for more progress on the sunroom, DIY headboard and a minor bathroom remodel!

8 thoughts on “DIY Make-a-Statement Curtains

  1. Love, love, love the curtains! I am hoping to do something similar in my living room….but I am going to make my mom doe the sewing!

  2. Pingback: Another plan for the sunroom? | The Suburban Urbanist

  3. Hi there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

